< All Topics

F. Delegation of powers

Our governmental structure rests on the principle of separation of powers. Under our constitutional order, the legislative branch enacts law, the executive branch implements the law, and the judiciary construes the law. In reality, however, the powers are not as strictly confined or delineated to each branch. “[T]he growing complexity of modern life, the multiplication of the subjects of governmental regulation, and the increased difficulty of administering the laws” require the delegation of powers traditionally belonging to the legislative to administrative agencies. The legislature may likewise apportion competencies or jurisdictions to administrative agencies over certain conflicts involving special technical expertise. (The Provincial Bus Operators Association of the Philippines v. DOLE, En Banc, G.R. No. 202275, 17 July 2018)

Previous E. Checks and balances
Next G. Fundamental powers of the State
Table of Contents